Eastern Spirituality

Glossary Contents: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter

Pratītyasamutpāda, commonly translated as dependent origination or dependent arising, states that all dharmas ("things") arise in dependence upon other dharmas: "if this exists, that exists; if this ceases to exist, that also ceases to exist." It is a pragmatic teaching, which is applied to dukkha and the cessation of dukkha.

A famous application of dependent origination is the Twelve Nidana, or 12 inter-dependences, which describes the chain of causes which result in rebirth. By reverting the chain, liberation from rebirth can be attained. They are:

  1. Ignorance
  2. Ignorance creates Mental Formation
  3. Mental Formation creates Consciousness
  4. Consciousness creates Name & Form
  5. Name & Form create Sense Gates
  6. Sense Gates create Contact
  7. Contact creates Feeling
  8. Feeling creates Craving
  9. Craving creates Clinging
  10. Clinging creates Becoming
  11. Becoming creates Birth
  12. Birth leads to Aging & Death

In the Tibetan Gelugpa school, pratītyasamutpāda is complementary to the concept of śūnyatā "emptiness," which means that no dharma has an existence of its own, and that there is no such "thing" as an "ultimate truth" or "ultimate reality."

Glossary Contents: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z